Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Culture

Leading Early American Scholarship Since 1943

Call for Council Nominations

The Council of the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture invites nominations to replace the outgoing class. Councilors serve for a three-year term; normally we do not have more than one person from an institution on the Council.

The current Council is composed of the following individuals:


  • Juliana Barr, Duke University
  • Sarah Barringer Gordon, University of Pennsylvania
  • Gregory E. O’Malley, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Randy J. Sparks, Tulane University
  • Lisa Wilson, Connecticut College


  • Sharon Block, University of California, Irvine
  • Alexander X. Byrd, Rice University
  • Cécile Fromont, University of Chicago
  • Patrick Griffin, University of Notre Dame
  • Alan S. Taylor, University of Virginia (Chair)


  • Marisa J. Fuentes, Rutgers University
  • Fabrîcio Prado, The College of William & Mary
  • Terri L. Snyder, California State University, Fullerton
  • Bertrand Van Ruymbeke, Université de Paris 8 and Institut Universitaire de France
  • Michael Witgen, University of Michigan

The Omohundro Institute’s scope encompasses the history and cultures of North America from circa 1450 to 1820 and includes related developments in Africa, the British Isles, the Caribbean, Europe, and Latin America.

We welcome nominations of scholars working in early American history, literature, or related fields in both the United States and abroad.

Nominations can be made online. Any questions or difficulties with the online nomination form can be emailed to Sharon Block ( All nominations should be submitted by April 15, 2018 for full consideration.

Sharon Block, Chair of Nominating Committee